Pic of the day – Shakespeare in Second Life

Snapshot_075

We went to the Shakespeare in the Arb last week (pics forthcoming still). Wonderful immersive rendering of the Winters Tale, but I wish they did more audience engagement activities. When I was a child I lived for the Shakespeare in the Park events that happened every summer. We had jesters and musicians beforehand, humorously teaching the audience some of the jargon and what it meant at the time, teaching us songs, having even a bit of a sing-a-long. I spent years of my childhood immersing myself at every opportunity in Shakespearean literature, language, costume, culture, history, context, and music. Yes, I was a strange child.

Anyway, my neighbor in Second Life, Ludo Merit, invited me to be part of an occasional event exploring Shakespeare’s Women. How could I resist? I chose Beatrice from Much Ado About Nothing. This image, however, is of the organizer, Marly Milena, performing as Cleopatra, with all the high drama you might imagine. Following each presenter’s performance, there was a question and answer session, including discussion the psychology of the character and how it intersected with the audience and the performer. Interactive? Engaging? Yes. 

