Pic of the day – Making pickles

I really am uncomfortable with wasting things that could be still used or useful. I hate throwing things out. That was the original reason I was so happy to find out about watermelon pickles. There is a lot of watermelon rind left over after eating a watermelon! But now I have come to love watermelon rind pickles so much that I have actually been known to buy a watermelon for its rind instead of for its flesh! This time I bought a gigantic watermelon and we are struggling to eat it all. But I will have a very nice supply of the pickles for myself, my friends and family. Good thing, too, I was running low. This picture is of the part I actually do throw out (or compost). You are supposed to cut off the really dense green part, and what is pickled is the white part.

Photo

Sent from my iPhone

