Pic of the Day – Hopscotch

Pic of the day - Hopscotch

I had a stressful day, and had every intention of logging in to write this post and whining my head off. I felt like I just couldn’t stand it another minute. I felt lost, frustrated, no idea what to do about any of the myriad small sad problems that presented themselves today and none of which I can fix or change or … or … anything. I looked at this picture of the hopscotch game drawn in front of the Palmer Commons yesterday. I know, it’s supposed to be a game. But to me, today, it looked long and lost and lonely. So I uploaded it, and when I logged into email … there was a lovely message from a girlfriend with a sweet peaceful prayer and rainbow roses. I can’t say it made me all better, but it made things enough better that I stopped myself from listing my whole whiney list of today’s miseries. Thank Saint Theresa of Lisieux. At least, that’s who they said wrote this not-a-prayer that my friend sent.

“May today there be peace within
May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be. May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith. May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.
May you be confident knowing you are a child of God.
Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.
It is there for each and every one of us.”
http://net-abbey.org/teresa-prayer-not.htm

Instead, here is something she really said.

“I leave to great souls and lofty minds the beautiful books I cannot understand, much less put into practice and I rejoice that I am little because children alone and those who resemble them will be admitted to the heavenly banquet. I am glad that there are many mansions in the Kingdom of God, because if there were only those whose description and whose road seem to me incomprehensible, I could never enter there.” http://www.catholicbible101.com/stthereseslittleway.htm

